“It’s always best to start at the beginning.” Tell me where that’s from & let’s get married. Anyway…

Hi, I’m Alex and I’m a writer. Don’t hold this blog against me. This is my safe haven & I’ve forbidden myself from editing too much here.

A couple months back, I created a concept for a show called “Flynn & the Quips.” It was a preschool show about a 6-year-old boy genius that accidentally unleashes characters, or Quips, from his game into the real world. The Quips teach him about spelling & how to not be afraid of the dark & other super important preschool things. That idea evolved into an older demographic show called, “Quinn & the Quips,” and is now centered around a girl and her 11-year-old relationships and love for technology. Quips still escape from her tablet in this version too, but now they cause her trouble in her social life instead of teaching her that cows go moo.

I took this idea to my boss a few months ago & she liked it enough to let me work on it a bit at work. We took it to a tradeshow & received some positive feedback from people we talked to about it. We stirred in that feedback and let the idea bake some more, and now we’re officially “in development.” If you’re visiting here from my Facebook, or any of my other social medias, you may already know that we launched a Kickstarter this week! Check it out here: http://68.go2.fund/quinn

Kickstarter is a crowd funding website where people can donate to help bring projects or products to life. Some successful Kickstarter projects are the Exploding Kittens game, the weird 100 water balloon hose attachment thing, and a Veronica Mars Movie Project.

When-You-Actually-Wear-Heels-Bar-Feel-Like-Gisele-Bündchen-Up

We’re running a Kickstarter campaign until June 6th to raise money to create a short pilot to shop to networks and to begin development on a game. I’m excited because I finally get to talk about Quinn & the Quips and share the awesome illustrations we had done by artist extraordinaire, Warner McGee. LOOK HOW CUTE.

QuinnKateBenBebe_Color_v1 copyGage Color

I’m in love with them. I stare at them all day long hoping they’ll start moving. One day they will and I will either be successful and happy or institutionalized. 50/50.

I guess because I’ve had film friends start projects with Kickstarter, I’ve always known about Kickstarter and how it works and I’ve never questioned why they might need money for their projects. Film work is expensive. Grants are hard to get. Investors are kind of scary. It doesn’t appear out of thin air. Kickstarter, or any crowd-funding site, has always seemed like a great, safe place for independent filmmakers to start. It wasn’t until I started posting about Kickstarter for Quinn and the Quips that I realized people might not understand what it is or why anyone would do a Kickstarter and how it works. So I thought I would answer some questions I’ve been asked or questions people might not want to ask but are maybe thinking when they see my posts…here we go:

Do you get equity in the property if you donate to a Kickstarter?

No, it’s not an investment. You might get some cool swag, depending on what reward tier you chose when you donate, but when you give to a Kickstarter, it is a donation to help that project come to fruition. Here’s an example of some of our donor reward swag for QatQ.

bag-group
Swag bag, USB bracelet, color changing stress ball, & T-shirt!

You work for a company that already has a kids brand…don’t y’all have money for this kind of thing?

The company has money for that brand right now. This is a new brand. A whole new adventure!

What is the Kickstarter money used for? Do you get paid from Kickstarter?

The money is used for production of the pilot (potential writing, animation, sound design, music, voice talent, editing, etc.), game development, marketing, and rewards…all things for the project. There’s a breakdown on our Kickstarter page. None of us at the company would be paid from the Kickstarter.

So, why Kickstarter & asking donations via the Internet instead of other, more traditional means of securing funds?

The reason we chose to raise money via Kickstarter is because putting a project out on Kickstarter helps creators build a community around their project. Social media influence is huge. If we can prove that people are interested in our project enough to give money to it and make a good pilot, networks or production companies or gaming companies are more likely to consider buying or co-producing with us.

Alex, your family is kind of into banking…why are you asking for donations? Couldn’t you just get a loan or something?

Well, I’m trying to find a way to do this on my own. You might’ve rolled your eyes reading “on my own” since I’m asking for donations, but what I mean is…I don’t want to ask my parents for their help. They raised me, changed my diapers, paid for uh, everything, you know the drill…I need to know that I can figure out a way to start my career “on my own.” Now it’s in quotations because this business is all about teamwork & networking. You can’t really do it “on your own.” My parents are on my team, they’ve just been benched from funding. And maybe Kickstarter is not the best way to go, maybe asking for donations is not the greatest idea, I get it; But in this business, you try anything & [almost] everything just hoping something works. “That’s entertainment!”

2943a690-d2e9-0131-8b1f-1a3b7fca4bb5
Gah, I love her.

If you get enough donations and your Kickstarter is funded, and you sell the show or make a deal, won’t you profit from this?

At some point I probably would. Unless I missed something in my contract & I get bamboozled. I don’t think that’s the case, but it all depends on what kind of deal is made or if we move forward independently. Money in the beginning would probably go back into the property for production. I’m honestly still learning about the money aspect of this business & it all seems to be done on a case-by-case basis.

Why should we fund your career?

I’m not asking you to fund my career. I’m only asking you to look at our project, decide if it’s something you deem worthy of support and if it’s something you would like to see become a real show/game. If so, please consider donating to help with the cost of production of the pilot or help us spread the word by sharing with your homies.

What happens if you don’t reach your Kickstarter goal?

If you don’t know, Kickstarter is “all or nothing”, so if you don’t reach your goal, you don’t receive any of the money donated. It goes back to the donors. Or it doesn’t charge anyone’s cards until the campaign is a success. I’m honestly not sure what the next step would be, but I believe we will still get it made, somehow. There’s some legal blah-dee-blah that gives me a headache & kind of complicates what could happen with Quinn. I’m starting to believe a law degree or at least a law cognate (is that even a thing?) should be required for art majors. Because you think, “Oh, I just created this thing I like. Let me team up with people & make it a real thing that hopefully other people will like. It’ll be awesome.” And then BAM! Somebody drops an official & scary looking document on your desk that decides who gets what in every single possible scenario your idea generates for the next 5-10 years. Might want to get a degree in string theory too.

I hope that cleared up some things for anyone that may have been wondering WTFun is happening. Why is this little animated character in my newsfeed? If I didn’t answer a question or concern or if you just want to comment because that’s what we do on the internet, please feel free to ask or share. Also, feel free to check out our Kickstarter campaign for Quinn & the Quips! We have until June 6th to reach our goal & we need all the help we can get with donations & spreading the word! http://68.go2.fund/quinn

#TeamWorkMakestheDreamWork #TeamQuinn #TeamInternet #TeamGiveMeaSmoresFrap #OraBourbonandCoke