A little over a month ago, I felt I’d fallen into a rut so I wrote this “Life Overhaul Guide” to help me climb out. Say what you want about New Years resolutions being dumb and nobody sticking to theirs…maybe you’re right but you’re also a Debbie Downer. It’s nice to have the illusion of “starting over” so I thought I’d share my fresh start thoughts & my personal goals for the new year/life in general.

10 Ways to Overhaul Your Life When You Feel You’re In A Rut

1 – Clean & organize or rearrange your living space. Keep it that way.

2 – Start a new workout routine & stick to it.

3 – Get a haircut or color…or both.

4 – Save money by not eating out so much.

5 – Start eating better by actually eating all of the fresh foods you buy at the grocery. Maybe try Whole 30 if you need a kick in the as–I mean, detox. I am! Well, will be! Once I eat all of my non-Whole 30 foods I bought this week…

6 – Reevaluate & refocus on your long term & short term goals.

7 – Make sure you know what your goals are first and or set some.

8 – Find a new or 2nd or 3rd source of income.

9 – Switch it up! Find a new hobby or pick up an old one. Drop something that doesn’t fulfill you anymore.

10 –Make lists for your short term & long term goals. Get specific & give yourself deadlines (& stick to them). Include what you want out of life. Actually do all these things instead of just “mentally” doing them. Follow through is the most important!

noted-ryan-the-office.gif

What Are Your Short Term Goals? Write Them down!

Here are mine:

  • Write the short film/feature stuck in my mind. Produce it with my sketch group or otherwise.
  • Figure out my “brand” or theme for my YouTube channel & post videos twice a month. 1,000 subscribers by June 2017.
  • Blog [at least] 2x a month. 100 followers by June 2017. Start a short story blog.
  • Find another source of income or find a new job. Increase my income by at least $10,000.
  • Write a children’s or preteen book by July 2017.
  • Get a new agent & book an acting job.
  • Take at least two acting or dancing classes a month.
  • Write a spec for an existing TV show.
  • Pay off my credit card debt…or at least make a dent in it.
  • Get my thyroid levels back to normal.
  • Get back down to 125-130lbs. Currently: 140+ (some scales say 144, some say 140..potayto, potahto)
  • Travel somewhere new. Alone or with friends.

What Do You Want Out of/In Your Life? Long term goals, if you will. Write it down!

Here’s my list:

1 – I want to not have a 9-5 desk job.

2 – I want to work for myself & have a creatively fulfilling job.

3 – I want to make a comfortable+ living on my own with that creatively fulfilling job. $100K+ a year.

4 – I want to find a genuine, honest, smart, funny, hard-working, considerate man to be bae & I want to marry bae at some point.

5 – I want to perform & entertain & make people laugh & inspire them to be happy.

6 – I want a house with a porch & fenced in backyard & a pool. Also, swings.

7 – I want a close group of social friends in the city I live.

8 – I want to maybe potentially kind of have healthy & happy kids but, like, later. Maybe 2 of them.

9 – I want to not worry about over drafting my account in between paychecks ever again. That would be awesome.

10 – I want to be great at something. I want to be disciplined and work hard enough at something to be considered “great.”

If I could, I’d include “Everybody I love lives healthily & happily & by my side forever,” but I’m only focusing on realistic things I think I can control or achieve…& you should to!

Make your list achievable. Write your wants & goals down & Rihanna the shhh out of 2017. (Work, work, work, work, work)

Cheers to you! Be happy, be healthy! Have courage & be kind! Be fierce & stuff.

tumblr_njkphcMNRd1tjydheo1_400.gif

