It’s a new year, yada yada. I’m going to do things differently, yada yada. Make goals not resolutions, yada yada. 

When-Elaine-Yada-Yada-Yadas-Sex

I’m not going to bother writing a proper intro because we’ve all read countless articles that sound exactly the same. I’m only writing this because it helps to put your goals in writing. So, here are my goals, my reasons, and a few wishes for 2016:

Be a better friend.

I constantly talk myself out of calling my friends because, “I don’t want to bother them,” or “They’re probably busy,” or “Nobody calls anymore. Calling is weird.” Really it’s just a little social anxiety. Calling people (& sometimes texting) makes me nervous. There’s potential for awkward silences, talking over each other, not being able to hear them & having to ask them to clarify multiple times…Conversation is an art and telephones are Shia LaBeouf.

That doesn’t make any sense, I just really wanted to say Shia LaBeouf.

To all my friends I have not called or texted back: I love you. I’m sorry. & I’ll do better.

Be able to hold a handstand split/Do cool bendy things.

I’ve always thought this was incredibly cool, so I’m going to up my cool factor & do it. If you’re on the Instagram, @Kinoyoga & @Talia_Sutra are my inspirations. They are #GoalsAF.

Here they are:

 Here’s where I am currently:

In a onesie. #startingfromthebottom

Become a Beachbody Diamond Coach.

If you know anything about Beachbody, this may not seem very lofty, but homegirl has had a hard time getting this Beach ball rollin’. I haven’t treated Beachbody as a priority so naturally it hasn’t rolled very far.

“Dreams don’t work unless you do.”

Let me explain what Beachbody is & why I’m giving it a shot.

Beachbody is a fitness company that sells Shakeology (dense nutrition shake) and fitness programs like P90X, Insanity, & 21 Day Fix, but it also gives people the opportunity to own their own business & help other people achieve their fitness goals. As a coach, I earn a commission whenever someone purchases from me & lists me as their coach. There’s a lot more to explain but essentially, you want to build a team and you want your customers to become coaches.

Here’s my why: I am NOT a sales person. Someone says, “No,” & I’m like, “Okay, thanks!” But I do believe in being active, I’ve always enjoyed protein shakes, & I like spreading positivity & cheering people on to be their best. I’m a creative person & I want a creative career, but it’s a tough gig, y’all. All “gigs” are, & my mom told me I better learn to take care of myself. Nothing is guaranteed, so my goal is to build a Beachbody team and eventually match my Beachbody income with my full-time job income. And it’s possible! After just two years (correct me if I’m wrong, Liz), my Beachbody coach, Liz Horne, was able to quit her full-time pharmacy job to commit to Beachbody full time. Like, what?

The products are great, the people are fantastic, & the opportunity is gold so I’m giving it some extra OOMPH this year.

Get to my goal weight or a 25in waist.

Currently, I’m 135lbs-ish with a 28-29in waist. I fluctuate between 128-135lbs constantly because I have the diet of a confused & emotional teenager. One week it’s protein bars & Shakeology. The next week it’s pizza & doughnuts for breakfast. There’s no consistency…or vegetables really, and you can’t out exercise a poor diet. My plan is to cut back on the comfort foods, wean myself off of added sugars, & to eat a vegetable with every meal (excluding breakfast because latte, duh). I’m not going to deny myself the terrible things I love all the time, but I’m not going to gorge on them once a week just because I’m bored. I want to feel better & I want to look better & I want a little less thigh chafing (shout out to my thick thigh homies.)

Take singing lessonsagain.

A long, long time ago, I harbored a dream of one day belting “The Wizard and I” to a sold out crowd on a Broadway stage. That dream officially died when, at 25, I auditioned for a community theater production of “The Wizard of Oz” with the song “Popular” and the director looked at me after I finished and said, “You can dance, right?” So maybe Broadway isn’t in the cards for me, but I would love to be able to sing a song & not have someone whisper, “Bless her heart, she’s trying,” while serving me sympathy applause.

Ultimately, I’d love to pull a Pink & sing while doing aerial silks, but one thing at a time for now.

98749564-1024x677-700x525c

 Save money.

I’ve saved $5 since I started working so…

 -Blog once a month.

Month one, done! #NailingIt 

FINISH a screenplay.

I have 8ish story beginnings floating around in different notebooks. This year I will finish one. I will have a complete thought.

YouTube.

Just do it. I put a lot of pressure on myself for YouTube because I forget that it’s just YouTube. I enjoy YouTube and I don’t want it to become a chore. That being said, “Live Laugh Latte” will not be about latte recipes anymore. That’s not me. I’m not a recipe girl. I’m not a Pinterest. If I finish my thoughts (see above), then maybe a wild sketch will appear. It’s probably going to become more like a vlog channel for now. Be prepared for videos of me drinking lattes and talking to a camera. Or not, that’s fine. You don’t have to watch.

But if you do, my latest video is here: Click me!

Those are some of the things I’m actively working on this year. I have to keep a few things to myself because I want to be mysterious. I’m hoping the stars will align & I’ll get to go on a vacation with my family or friends. Fingers, eyes, & toes crossed for both! I just want to do some snowboarding & snorkeling. Who’s in?

 

